SamoborSamobor area covers 315 km2 west of Zagreb, near the border with the neighboring Republic of Slovenia. Samobor is a picturesque town with a preserved old urban center and one of the most popular excursion sites for a million inhabitants of the Croatian capital. Its long history, rich cultural heritage and attractive surroundings also mean an important position in the tourism of the north-western Croatia. With the Charter of the king Bela IV in 1242, Samobor began its development as a free royal market town. Above the town there are ruins of the Old Burg, build from the 13th to the 18th century, abandoned in the 19th century, with preserved only the architectural details from the Romanesque period onward. Under the Old Burg there is the older part of Samobor, Taborec, with wooden houses and the Gothic Church of St. Michael, renovated in the Baroque style, as well as the sports and recreation center Vugrinščak. On the Tepec hill there is the most beautiful Samobor promenade, Anindol with a Baroque Chapel of St. Anne, the patron saint of Samobor. The central square has many cafes and restaurants with the view to the facades of the buildings from the 19th century, and is a favorite excursion site for many visitors from Zagreb. Livadić castle from 1764 is located near the main square, and hosts the Samobor Museum. Besides many historical sites (Old Burg, Samobor Museum, Parish Church), some houses in the town's center look like Venitian houses, so this part of town is called the "Samobor Venice". The rich culinary offer includes the Rude salty strudel greblica, the spicy Samobor mustard muštarda, the bermet liqueur, garlic sausages, the cream custard pastries kremšnitas, Samobor salami and so on. Many sports, recreational events and sites in the town and the surroundings offer visitors and tourists a good quality active vacation. The main recreational activity is hiking, Samobor being the cradle of the Croatian hiking. There are many well-marked hiking trails around Samobor and several nice mountain lodges. The Samobor Carnival or Fašnik is an event of a long tradition and one of the best known carnivals. Other manifestations include the Samobor Salamijada, the feast of Samobor sausages, the Spring Fest and Fair, the Night of the Tamburitza, Old-timers Rally, Days of the Rude Greblica, Samobor Music Autumn and so on.

Address: Trg kralja Tomislava 5, 10430 Samobor
Tel: 01 3378 111
Fax: 01 3378 113


Objects on town area

Balagov Castle
Chapel of St. George
Samobor Museum
Grgos Cave
Podolje Castle
Prica Gallery
Ethno House at Okić
Samobor graveyard
Educational Trail Otruševac
Fairy Caves
Church of St. Michael
Chapel of St. Anne
Greek-Catholic Parish Church of St. George
Nature park Žumberak - Samobor hills
Chapel of St. Joseph
Old Burg Okić
Samobor Hostel
Chapel of the Holy Cross
Exquisit, Handicraft Manufacture
Chapel of St. Vitus
Entrepreneur Center Samobor, Ltd
Samobor Calvary
Anindol Pyramid
Cerinski Vir Waterfall
Marton Museum
Parish church of St. Martin
Samobor Tourist Board
Chapel of St. Anthony
Kurija i park Bistrac
King Tomislav Square
Mirnovec Country-House
Old Town Samobor
Parish Church of St. Barbara
Chapel of St. Petronila
Meeting House Tabor
Restaurant Vilinske Jame
MDM Perković, Fruit Wine Manufacture
The Parish Church of St. Anastasia
Beekeeping association „Samobor and Sv. Nedelja“
Uskoks Museum of Žumberak
Samobor Primary School - Section handicraft
Franciscan Church of Mary's Ascension
Photo Gallery Lang
Parish Church of St. Leonard and the Franciscan Monastery

Show objects on map