ZaprešićNorthwest of Zagreb there are 64 villages of the Zaprešić area at 252 km2, with about 46 thousand inhabitants. One of the northwestern "gateways" to the Zagreb County is well connected with Europe by roads and railways. The largest settlements are Zaprešić, Brdovec, Bistra, Jakovlje, Pušća, Marija Gorica, Dubravica and Luka. The hillside area keeps stories of the six castles. One of them is linked to the count and vice-roy Josip Jelačić (1801-1859), who abolished serfdom in 1848. Along the road to Hrvatsko Zagorje there is his Novi Dvori castle built in the early Baroque style, a unique example of preserved entire aristocratic estate complex. Like Novi Dvori, very close to Zaprešić, there is a Baroque building Lužnica castle from the beginning of the 18th century. About 6 km west of Zaprešić lies the most beautiful Croatian Classicistic castle from 1830 - Januševec castle, and only a kilometer away from Zaprešić towards the Sutla river the baron Vladimir Vraniczany's castle Laduč from 1882, with a French garden. The fifth castle is in Jakovlje with an outdoor sculpture park. Family Oršić built the castle with an old park alley, a court chapel and what is left of a large park in Louis XIV style in Gornja Bistra in 1773. Besides castles, several old manors, churches and old Zagorje wooden houses (traditional houses in Dubravica district with blue painted facades). In the Brdovec area there are also important archeological sites from the Old Age and the Antique.

Address: Nova Ulica 10, 10290 Zaprešić
Tel: 01 3315-111; 3315-112
Faks: 01 3315 114

Objects on town area

Marijin Dvor Castle in Lužnica
Church of St. John the Baptist
Januševec Castle
Zaprešić Tourist Board
Parish Church of St. Peter the Apostle
Matija Skurjeni Museum
Novi Dvori Jelačićevi Castle

Show objects on map